Skip to content

HOMOPHOBIC BAR ALERT

July 26, 2009

Pirate Bay

Just read this off of my friend Nick Adam’s blog:

“So this past week, at a friend’s suggestion, I attempted to attend Turtle Bay on the east side of Manhattan. It’s a standard bar with cheap drink specials, so I thought I would check it out along with my boy friend and my best friend. As I approached the door, the bouncer looked me up and down, looked at my boyfriend then smirked and refused us entry to the bar. When asked why we couldn’t go in he said it was because we were wearing white shirts and gave a laugh. We moved out of line, then watched a group of straight guys in white tshirts enter the bar. I was furious and decided not to cause a scene but to Twitter and facebook about it instead. Well… Thanks to my loyal fans and followers… Tons of people reposted and voiced their complaints to turtle bay. I received an email from the head of PR from the bar expressing their apologies for the “misconception.” I understand she was doing her job and being polite, but she tried to spin it so Turtle Bay came out in a positive light. Bottom line, I was discriminated against. I will not attempt to give my business to Turtle Bay and I urge you to do the same. This womans attempt to brush this aside as a misunderstanding is disingenuous at best if not hurtful and offensive to myself and the gay community of New York City. If they are serious about remedying the situation, they would immediately remove the bouncer as an employee of the establishment. Thank you to all my friends, fans and followers who
came together in support. They screwed with the wrong gay.” – Nick

To all my gay and straight friends, spread the word and take your business elsewhere. Make a point of contacting the bar and voicing your concerns and frustrations. Throw them a good old shit storm.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 27, 2009 12:14 am

    Did you sue the bar for discrimination? I am sorry you had to go through this.

    Best Wishes,
    Ev

Leave a Reply

